DM/Player preferences and expectations.

View previous topic View next topic Go down

DM/Player preferences and expectations.

Post by DM-Christian on Fri Jan 30, 2015 6:36 pm

I wanted to take some time today, and open the discussion as well, to talk about playstyles in D&D.  As a DM, it's important that I'm up front as to what you can expect from me, because there's no point hyping our campaign as the best thing ever if the way that we present it bugs the hell out of you.

It's kind of a tradition for me that I leap straight to DMing before mastering the nuts, bolts, numbers and minutia of the rules we're using, and Weirdale will be no different.  I've always been able to pull this off through recruiting players both honest and communicative, willing to answer, even to their character's peril, just "what that thing does," while I'm still learning.  Through playing Neverwinter nights, I enriched my education of 3rd edition D&D, and thankfully 5th edition is basically 3rd edition without stat bloat, so I don't expect a longstanding learning curve on my end.

What I do think deserves touching on and highlighting is my stylistic choice toward dialogue and roleplay, and away from numbers.  I consider it a badge of honour to be a DM that enjoys hours of talking and encouraging discussion among the players, with few dice rolls.  Dice and numbers are important to simulate the things we can't accomplish socially (and to flavour some things that we can), but I'm generally not out here to put your character sheets through their paces, I'll save that for your characters themselves.

Combat is fun, but it's the slowest few minutes of your characters' lives when we must live them, so while combat can, will, and must happen, it is not my focus.